2013 rice production at record high | mb.com.ph | Philippine News
Home  » Business » Business News » 2013 rice production at record high

2013 rice production at record high

Despite strong typhoons last year, Filipino farmers were able to produce a total of 18.44 million metric tons  of palay in 2013 the highest ever recorded in Philippine history.

According to Agriculture Secretary Proceso J. Alcala announced this performance at the recognition and awarding of top producers of palay via the National Rice Achievers (NRA) awards held recently at the Newport Performing Arts, Resorts World Manila, Pasay City.

Although three percent short of the 100% rice production target, overall yield accounted for  97% based on a 20.04 million MT target.

Alcala commended the local chief executives of rice-producing provinces, municipalities and cities for continuing to partner with the government in its drive to attain food self-sufficiency. He also expressed his gratitude to farmers and irrigators associations, and agricultural technicians for their invaluable contribution in attaining the historic feat.

“We value your role in ensuring safe, nutritious, affordable, and sufficient supply of food for the Filipino people,” he said.

He also challenged the provincial governors to implement programs that will increase farmers’ production and income.

In addition, he campaigned for the integration of Good Agricultural Practices (GAP) in rice to improve the quality of palay in preparation for intense domestic and global competition, as well as the use of appropriate modern technologies to boost overall production.

A total of P117.42 million worth of project grants and cash prizes were given out to the 2013 NRA awardees which consist of 12 provinces, 48 municipalities, 10 Irrigators’ Associations (IAs), three Small Water Impounding System Associations (SWISAs), and 496 Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs). Each province received P4 M worth of project grant, while municipalities received P1 M worth of project grants. The IAs and SWISAs each received P1 M and P500, 000 respectively, while AEWs were given P20, 000 cash prize each.