Aquino names new Customs officials | | Philippine News
Home  » News » National » Aquino names new Customs officials

Aquino names new Customs officials

President Benigno S. Aquino III has appointed new deputy commissioners of the Bureau of Customs (BOC) headlined by former Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff Jessie Dellosa who will be heading the Intelligence Group.

Deputy Presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte announced on government radio dzRB on Saturday that the President signed the appointment papers of Dellosa and other new Customs officials last Sept. 26.

Dellosa who was the 43rd AFP Chief of Staff replaced retired General Danilo Lim. Dellosa held the top post of the military from December 12, 2011 to January 17 this year when he was succeeded by current AFP Chief of Staff Emmanuel Bautista.

Meanwhile, Primo Aguas was appointed as as Deputy Commissioner for Management Information Systems and Technology Group while Agaton Teodoro O. Uvero is the new Deputy Commissioner for Assessment and Operations Coordinating Group.

Aguas replaced Maria Caridad T. Manarang while Uvero will take over the post of Prudencio M. Reyes.

The Palace official also bared that two officials from other departments will also be detailed to Deputy Commissioner posts at the BOC.

Valte said Director Myrna Chua of the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) will be detailed at the BOC as Deputy Commissioner for Internal Administration Group while Finance Assistant Secretary Maria Edita Tan will be detailed as Deputy Commissioner for the Revenue Collection Monitoring Group.

The revamp at the Bureau of Customs was triggered by Aquino’s criticism of “thick faced” officials at the bureau during his fourth State of the Nation Address last July. BOC Commissioner Ruffy Biazon offered to resign via his Twitter account, but he said the Palace ordered him to stay put.

Lim who also resigned following Aquino’s SONA had complained about “powerful forces” intervening in their campaign against smugglers.