Comelec forms advisors for 2016 | | Philippine News
Home  » News » Metro » Comelec forms advisors for 2016

Comelec forms advisors for 2016

Manila, Philippines — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) Advisory Council (CAC) has been reconstituted for the upcoming May 2016 national and local polls.

Republic Act 9369 tasked the CAC to recommend to the Comelec “the most appropriate, secure, applicable and cost-effective technology to be applied in the Automation Election System (AES).” The CAC is made up of nine members from the academe, non-government electoral reform organizations, information and communications technology (ICT) professional organizations and government agencies.

New faces in the council include Assistant Secretary Raymund Liboro of Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Dr. John Paul C. Vergara of  Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting (PPCRV) and lawyer Rona Ann V. Caritos of Legal Network for Truthful Elections.

Former CAC members who kept their positions as representatives of their respective organizations are Undersecretary Alberto T. Muyot of Department of Education, Prof. Rommel P. Feria of University of the Philippines, and George Kintanar of Chief Information Officers Forum Foundation.

To bolster the council’s technical capacity, the CAC has brought in new members from ICT Professional Organizations: Infocomm Technology Association of the Philippines (ITAP) and the Philippine Computer Emergency Response Team (PHCERT). Dondi O. Mapa is official representative of ITAP while Angel S. Averia Jr. is for PHCERT.